Nichols United Methodist Church Nichols United Methodist Church was founded in 1848 by a group of local residents who sought spiritual renewal not available in other local churches. Nichols United Methodist is named for the community, but also for Grandison Nichols, a local Christian who was instrumental in founding the church. The Ladies Aid Society raised much of the money ( through dinners, fairs, and other events ) needed to construct the original building. The current sanctuary was completed in 1962 and the education building was built in 1980. Our unique organ was renovated in 1998 and utilizes a state-of-the-art computerized three-manual console to control pipes, electronic voices, and synthesized voices. The church's history is the subject of the book A Church of Their Own, written by Steven Otfinoski in 1998 in honor of the church's 150th anniversary ( available in the church library ). The Methodist movement began in the eighteenth century when an Anglican pastor, John Wesley, defined a method of linking the Christian faith to practical rules for living. Early Methodists encouraged one another to grow in faith through preaching services and earnest sharing in weekly small group gatherings, called Class Meetings, which included self-examination, Bible study and prayer.