Trumbull, CT


Sponsored Topics

Trumbull, a town in Fairfield County, Connecticut in the New England region of the United States, is bordered by the towns of Monroe, Shelton, Stratford, Bridgeport, Fairfield and Easton along Connecticut's Gold Coast. The population was 36,018 according to the 2010 census.
Family Circle magazine selected Trumbull as the 7th "Best Town for Families" in the US, and U.S. News & World Report magazine ranked Trumbull as one of the top 15 "Best Places to Retire" in Connecticut.
Trumbull was settled in 1639 as a part of the town of Stratford, Connecticut, and remained under their control until 1797. The northwest farmers of Stratford first petitioned the Colony of Connecticut to establish their own separate village apart from Stratford in 1725. The farmers wished to call the new village "Nickol's Farms" for the family that owned the large farm in its center. A separate village was approved in October 1725, called "Unity", but it still remained under Stratford's control.