Sponsored Topics

Delavan is a city in Tazewell County, Illinois, United States. The population was 1,825 at the 2000 census. It is part of the Peoria, Illinois Metropolitan Statistical Area.
The city of Delavan is governed by a mayor/aldermanic form of city government consisting of six (6) elected members representing the three geographic wards of the city and the mayor who is elected by voters of the entire city. The mayor is chief executive officer of the city and leads semi-monthly city council meetings, voting on matters before the council only in the event of a tie.
Current members of the council serving in rotating terms of four years are: David Holland (Ward 1), Lou A. McCoy (Ward 1), Jere Braden (Ward 2), Sally Shoultz (Ward 2), George Mitchell (Ward 3), and Mark Williams (Ward 3).