Mount Vernon Police Department

211 N 10th St
Mount Vernon IL 62864

Sponsored Topics

See a problem? Let us know!
The Mount Vernon Police Department is composed of detective division, K-9 unit, traffic division and H.R.T. team. It offers a variety of programs, such as drug abuse resistance education, neighborhood crime watch, crime stoppers and young marines programs. Its detective division has detectives trained in crime scene investigations, financial crime investigations and crimes against the elderly. Additionally, the division offers investigations into drugs- and weapons-related crimes throughout Jefferson County, Ill. The traffic division is responsible for investigating motor vehicle crashes and increasing public education regarding traffic safety. Its H.R.T. team has several certified instructors in various areas, including firearms, sub-guns, less lethal, distraction devices and gas munitions. The department s K-9 division performs normal patrol functions and responds to building searches, crowd control functions and major violent crimes.