ABOUT OUR CITY The Kirwin City Hall hosts both the business office for the city as well as the Kirwin City Library. The City of Kirwin provides the water utility for the town and for some residents near the city limits. Any questions regarding the water utility policy should be directed to Melissa Johnson, City Clerk, at ( 785 ) 543-6652. Brochures stating water rates and basic city ordinances are available to those interested in moving to the town or purchasing secondary residences. The City Hall was erected beginning in the year 1915. The council was very excited at the prospect of having a centrally located building and felt the construction would add considerably to the charisma of the town. The city hall was completed in 1916. It is constructed of red brick with Indiana limestone enhancements. The portico over the east entrance has a landing above, which was originally intended as a bandstand. Red asbestos tile was replaced in later years with asphalt shingles in the same color, to retain the original appearance. On the north facade of the building, the initials "F.D." can be seen. This of course stands for "Fire Department, " as a horse-drawn fire wagon was housed in the west side of the main floor. The east side of the main floor has always been used as the city office. In the upper story, there is a spacious children's library. This part of the building has seen many purposes over the years. Municipal court was held here, as well as a meeting room for many years. The east side of the upper story was the original library room, and still houses approximately 3, 000 volumes of antique books and old newspapers. All in all, almost every newspaper ever published in the town is still intact, although fragile. Persons interested in researching family history and any other facts of interest regarding the town's history are welcome to peruse the available materials. There is much information available regarding the town's history, and we feel we have a very charming and unique town, but unfortunately, it cannot all be listed here. Specific questions may always be sent to the librarian using the city/library e-mail address listed at the top of the page. The following is a brief excerpt found in the publication "Kirwin Dam Dedication, " which was printed for the dam's dedication ceremonies on June 10, 1955. This history and tales of Kirwin were compiled by C.S. Hurst from the old Kirwin papers on file in the Kirwin City Library. In 1865 Col. Kirwin with a regiment of Tennessee Volunteers, was sent to the frontier to protect settlers. He established a post between Bow Creek and the North Solomon, a short distance above their confluence, it was called Fort Kirwin. There being no settlers within 100 miles needing protection, and the country swarming at that time with hostile Indians, he abandoned the post.