Kentucky Teachers Retirement

479 Versailles Rd
Frankfort KY 40601

Sponsored Topics

Opening Hours

  • Mon: 8am-5pm
  • Tue: 8am-5pm
  • Wed: 8am-5pm
  • Thu: 8am-5pm
  • Fri: 8am-5pm

See a problem? Let us know!
Established by law in 1938, Kentucky Teachers Retirement System legally known as Teachers' Retirement System of the state of Kentucky became operational in 1940. The system is classified as an actuarial reserve, joint-contributory system, meaning that contributions of the members and employers and the earnings from its investments are placed in reserve to pay for the system's annuity obligation. Kentucky Teachers Retirement System s membership is mandatory for all persons in eligible agencies occupying positions which require either certification or graduation from a four year college and university as a condition of employment. Agencies eligible for participation in the system include public elementary and secondary schools, regional educational cooperatives, the Eastern Kentucky University, Kentucky State University and the Morehead State University.