Longacre House In Farmington Hills

24705 Farmington Rd
Farmington Hills MI 48336
9 Reviews
{{::location.tagLine.value.text}}

Sponsored Topics

Opening Hours

  • Mon: 10am-8pm
  • Tue: 10am-8pm
  • Wed: 10am-8pm
  • Thu: 10am-8pm
  • Fri: 10am-2pm
  • Sat: 10am-2pm
  • Sun: 10am-2pm

Payment

  • American Express
  • Check
  • Visa
  • Discover
  • MasterCard
  • Cash

See a problem? Let us know!
<p>Built in 1869 by Farmington pioneer Palmer Sherman, Longacre House was originally a modest, brick structure with a barn, spring house and well on 100 acres of property.</p> <p>Mr. Sherman was a farmer who supplied seeds for the Ferry Seed Company. He and his wife had nine children. Over time, they gradually sold off portions of the property, and upon their retirement, rented it out. In 1915, Detroit lawyer Lumen Goodenough purchased the property and later hired noted architect Marcus Burrowes to remodel and expand the house, with 20 rooms, a greenhouse and a library with floor to ceiling bookshelves. The family owned the property until 1968, when the Goodenoughs children donated the home and five acres of land to the residents of the Farmington area, to be used as a community center.</p> <p>Since the 1970s, the community center operated under the direction of a non-profit board, hosting both private and public events, receptions, weddings and family gatherings. In 2008, the City of Farmington Hills took ownership of Longacre House and now offers a variety of cultural programs there. In addition, the facility remains open for private event rentals, club and other community group meetings.</p>