Dayton, MN


Sponsored Topics

Dayton is a city in Hennepin and Wright counties in the U.S. state of Minnesota. The population was 4,671 at the 2010 census. Dayton is mainly in Hennepin County, but a part of the city extends into Wright County as well. It is the northernmost city in Hennepin County.
The city of Dayton, platted in 1855, is named for city founder, Lyman Dayton (1810–1865). Through his energy and finances, Lyman Dayton was instrumental in bringing the railroad into Minnesota and development of the Lake Superior and Mississippi Railroad, of which he was President until 1865.
According to the United States Census Bureau, the city has a total area of 25.2 square miles (65.2 km²), of which, 23.5 square miles (60.7 km²) of it is land and 1.7 square miles (4.5 km²) of it (6.83%) is water. On January 15, 2003 the city's most recent geographical expanse extended its boundaries. County Roads 121 and 144 are two of the main routes in the city. The neighboring cities are Champlin, Hassan Township, Maple Grove, Anoka, Ramsey, Elk River, and Otsego. The cities of Rogers and Corcoran are nearby, but do not border Dayton.