Seymour, WI


Sponsored Topics

Seymour is a city in Outagamie County, Wisconsin, United States. The population was 3,451 at the 2010 census. The city is located within the Town of Seymour and the Town of Osborn.
The City of Seymour was founded in 1868 and named after Governor Horatio Seymour of the state of New York. Seymour is said to have once been called Squeedunk, which means "little settlement" or "village". Seymour's centennial was in 1968.
William and John Ausbourne were the first settlers in Seymour. They had traveled from western Outagamie County on the Wolf River during the summer of 1857 and made their way to the mouth of the Shioc River. They then moved to a spot where the Black Creek flows into the Shioc. After finding that there were no longer any roads to follow, the Ausbournes finally settled in the present location of Seymour, which was occupied by Native Americans at the time. There they built a log house, the only residence in Seymour for two years. Their closest neighbors lived in Osborn.